The Rainbow Connection

shoc_gender__sexuality_article_pt2_rainbow_flag_8dec14_v1.jpg.jpeg

“Know ye not that the unrighteous shall not inherit the kingdom of God? Be not deceived: neither fornicators, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor effeminate, nor abusers of themselves with mankind, nor thieves, nor covetous, nor drunkards, nor revilers, nor extortioners shall inherit the kingdom of God. And such were some of you: but ye are washed, but ye are sanctified, but ye are justified in the name of the Lord Jesus and by the Spirit of our God.”
1 Corinthians 6:9-11, KJV

“Everybody’s journey is individual. If you fall in love with a boy, you fall in love with a boy. The fact that many Americans consider it a disease says more about them than it does about homosexuality.”
James Baldwin

I’ve tried to explain in previous posts my purpose for writing this particular blog, specifically from a spiritual or religious perspective. I wanted to create something that could not only entertain, engage and encourage my friends and associates, but would also not embarrass or shame my parents and older family members. Although I wanted it to be positive and uplifting, I also wanted people to learn something from each story I told about my life, as I was learning more about myself. I wanted everyone to read about my plight and feel better about their own. I wanted anyone going through a similar situation to recognize that they weren’t alone. I chose the Bible as my frame of reference because it represents the ultimate truth, God’s word, and I aspire to be honest like that. However, I’m not a Biblical scholar and I do have difficulty understanding it’s meaning sometimes, but I know the difference between right and wrong and there are specific guidelines listed within that sacred document that need no explanation at all, like the 10 Commandments or the 7 Deadly Sins. Problem is, the traditional values and beliefs of past generations that taught us honor, respect, trust, etc. have been replaced by apathy and nonchalance. Hardly anyone wants to speak out for right anymore.

Over the past few days, the topic of homosexuality has been prevalent in certain circles with which I associate. Several young women made it a point to expose a few men in our area who have been secretly living a double life, and so the battle of the sexes began. The “down low” brother gained nationwide attention back in the early 2000s, as the spread of HIV/AIDS increased among heterosexual Black women and it seems as though “coming out” is still an issue for gay Black men today. On one hand, I empathize with these men, because the Black community can be downright vicious when it comes to openly gay individuals, especially so-called Christians. On the other hand, I can’t be mad at the women who put down low men on blast, because people deserve full disclosure of your sexual habits before you become intimate with them. I’m not familiar with the culture and social norms of White gay men, but it appears that they transition better into society than their multicultural homosexual brothers. As for the lesbians, well, men think it’s sexy to see women kissing and touching each other, so I rarely hear about negative issues gay women face by exposing their sexual identities. On the real though, it doesn’t matter if you are a man or woman, gay or straight, NOBODY is supposed to be sexing with anyone unless they are married anyway. Hello!

Now, let me be very clear: I am a Black, heterosexual, Christian woman trying to live a life of service that is pleasing in the eyes of my Lord and Savior. I am a sinner; I was born into sin and I will die a saved woman because of His forgiveness, His grace and His mercy. I can’t tell you how to live your life, but it is my responsibility to tell you if you’re wrong, according to the Word of the Lord. And just like God, I will love you and treat you the same way I treat all people, with patience and kindness from the bottom of my heart. It is true, God does indeed love ALL that He has created, but He is not the Father to all, because all are not saved.

I understand that some of you will read this post and take offense, get in your feelings, disagree or whatever, it’s all good. I gotta keep it 100. I’m not stereotyping or judging anybody’s lifestyle and I don’t care what you do in the privacy of your bedroom; if you like it, I love it.

So, I know I haven’t said a word about how homosexuality has effected me personally, but I had to get all the other stuff out of the way first. See, I have friends and family who are gay, lesbian and/or bisexual. I have seen the struggles they go through to stand in their truth and live a productive life in this world. It ain’t easy. And even though I believe in God and the Bible, I still question the origin of homosexuality, you know? I say that because in the book of Leviticus, (chapter 18 verse 22, to be exact) it clearly states that homosexuality is an abomination, right? Then how can people be born gay? I’ve seen children exhibit gay tendencies at an early age who are now gay adults. I know that God doesn’t make mistakes, but that kind of behavior baffles me. Or how about same-sex couples who want families? If they can provide a safer, more stable environment than one consisting of a man and a woman, should they not be given a chance to love and raise a child? I stand firm in my beliefs, but I do question the ideology sometimes. I’m human, what can I say? Nevertheless, the bottom line is we ALL are sinners, no one is perfect. Do unto others as you would have done unto you and let God and the universe work out the rest. Until next time…

One thought on “The Rainbow Connection

  1. Looking past differences while productively cooperating for the greater good is the essence of our attempted walks of faith. Judge not…lest ye be judged.
    Like the big homie Tupac said…..
    “Do ya thang boy, i ain’t mad at cha”–

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

