One Size Fits All

one-size-fits-all-300x336.png

This know also, that in the last days perilous times shall come. For men shall be lovers of their own selves, covetous, boasters, proud, blasphemers, disobedient to parents, unthankful, unholy, without natural affection, trucebreakers, false accusers, incontinent, fierce, despisers of those that are good, traitors, heady, highminded, lovers of pleasures more than lovers of God; having a form of godliness, but denying the power thereof: from such turn away…” 

II Timothy 3:1-5, KJV

“Oh, I’m real–real enough to defeat you! And I did it without your precious gifts, your oh-so-special powers. I’ll give them heroics! I’ll give them the most spectacular heroics anyone’s ever seen! And when I’m old and I’ve had my fun, I’ll sell my inventions so that everyone can be superheroes. Everyone can be super! And when everyone’s super, no one will be.”

Syndrome AKA Buddy, The Incredibles, 2004

 

Happy New Year! Happy Friday the 13th!

Peace and blessings to everyone near and far, friend or foe.

2016 was something else, right? So much stuff happened in my life, in the world, that I literally could not sit down and express myself. The words would not flow freely as they had in previous months. And every time I felt like I should be writing about something, distractions kept me preoccupied. Distractions like moving from an apartment to a house, discovering my nephew has Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD), voting in the presidential election and mourning the deaths of so, so many people really took a toll on me. I had plenty to say; in fact, my friends and followers kept asking me about my blog and why was I not writing and still, I sat down to pour out my heart onto a page, but the words would not come.

Then, I made it to church on the first Sunday of the year and I have to say, I feel really good about having done that. It gave me a renewed sense of purpose. Now, I feel how I felt when I first began writing this blog-excited and obligated. I’m excited because I really love writing and I feel obligated to express what I learn, especially knowledge that could help someone be the best person they can be. I hear and see so much information day by day that it makes me feel some type of way not to share my stories, my thoughts, my words with anyone who cares to read or listen.

And so I have to tell y’all, I cried as I watched President Barack Hussein Obama deliver his farewell speech to our divided, volatile nation the other night. I feel grateful and blessed to have seen the first Black man serve the United States in its highest political office; a phenomenon that I thought would not occur in my lifetime. On the other hand, I am so incredibly sad to see him go, because in a few weeks, Donald Trump will be sworn in as our nation’s 45th president, and he simply does not have what it takes to run this country, a bona fide fact that he has proven time and again with his words, his actions and his demeanor.

How can it be that the same people who had such fortitude and audacity to elect POTUS Obama, chose the least qualified, most inexperienced candidate to take his place?

Is it just me, or have we become a society of complacency and mediocrity?

Think about it, people just decide that they can or could do whatever they want to do nowadays, with minimal knowledge, training or skill in the activity or profession. What do I mean? I mean preachers or pastors who call themselves ordained or licensed after answering a series of questions on the internet; doctors who have neither attended medical school, nor completed coursework associated with holding said title; and last, but definitely not least, bloggers who think that having a huge following on social media somehow gives them journalistic credibility!

So now we have actual scholars and trained professionals fighting for jobs, titles and credentials that have been bestowed upon people who think they can produce or perform better, but have not put in the work necessary to receive credit or recognition. Wait, seriously?

Remember the phrase, “too many chiefs, not enough Indians?”

Or what about the concept of passing out trophies or medals to all kids who participate in competitive sports, so no one goes home empty-handed? What part of the game is that? I remember how proud I felt when I EARNED a spot on the boys relay team because I almost beat the fastest boy in my class! I didn’t just go to school and tell the coach to put me on the team! I had to prove that I belonged on the team.

I understand that as times change, so do people. It just seems like we’re missing the mark. We want to live like a celebrity, but we barely have a grasp on civilian life. The days of hard work, dedication and patience seem to be long gone. Now you can get rewarded just because you breathe. My late professor said it best, nearly 14 years ago, “We live in a microwave society; people don’t want to work or wait for food, let alone anything else…”

During a recent interview, Charlie Sheen said, “…No one is above common courtesy, ever. And the two things that appear to be evaporating in society and on this rock of ours are common courtesy and common sense…” Indeed. Show kindness to people and work hard to be the best-two concepts that are slowly but surely getting lost in the sauce as we push forward in the digital age. Nothing in this world worth having comes to you easily. As a Christian, I recognize that more and more each day. The Lord said this world is not my home and He has a place for me in His kingdom, if I obey His word. And so, in spite of all this chaos and disorder around me, I will fear no evil, for God is with me always and His truth endures. Until next time…

 

18 thoughts on “One Size Fits All

  1. I personally think that we live in a day and age where information and content in available at our finger tips! The common issue is just the hard work that has been eliminated. Like one of my favorite authors Booker T Washington, people seem not to work hard as of times past. We are complacent and everyone wants everyone’s success and they find it hard to tread on their own to achieve their own success.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Shaunna, as I said before, you are a very talented author. Your views on world topics are always uplifting. This blog is one that everyone needs to read. No one wants to think about the mess our “future president” can make of this world, but we seriously need to stay in Corporate Prayer for our nation. We must not forget that God is in control. We must pray that he leads the President in every decision, because he is not ready nor capable of running our nation.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I like the valuable info you provide to your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and take a look at again right here regularly.
    I’m somewhat certain I will be told a lot of new stuff right right
    here! Good luck for the following!

    Like

  4. I love this post! It definitely gives you a lot to think about. We definitely, have to pay attention if we never have before of what is going on with our laws. Lord, knows what we are up against, but as stated we have to stay prayed up and know that God is in control….

    Like

  5. This was definitely an interesting article & gives anyone reading this a lot to think about. In today’s society if it was ever a time to pay attention to our laws. It is truly today in time where many us don’t even pay attention to anything longer than 30 seconds. We must pay attention what laws are being put in to place and how they will affect us short and long term. Thank you for sharing such a thought-provoking post!

    Like

  6. I’m sad about the Obamas being gone. It has been an uneasy transition. However, I will say that I appreciate that I have the freedom to switch careers (sooner than later) and have been taking courses so that I feel more prepared.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. You hit it right on the head! Common sense and especially common courtesy seem to really be lacking on the ontenet as well as in person. It’s sad, but I know there is still hope.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I def agree with the microwave society. People have no patience. This is the reason why have so many fast food restaurant because its quick and convenient. Although I don’t want to go back completely in time. The old days taught us they we have to work for some things.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

